2008 Berkeley Prize – Dedicated to the Aga Khan Award for Architecture


The Aga Khan Award for Architecture

This year’s BERKELEY PRIZE is dedicated to one of the world’s most prestigious architectural awards program, the international Aga Khan Award for Architecture. Established to identify and encourage building concepts that successfully address the needs and aspirations of societies in which Muslims have a significant presence, the awards program has helped reveal an architecture of humanism that transcends religion, race, or nationality.

The Aga Khan Award selection process is unique in that it emphasizes a universal, social architecture that not only provides for people’s physical and economic needs, but that also stimulates and responds to their cultural and spiritual expectations. The selected projects are, as a result, models for students and practitioners throughout the world who aspire to do innovative design that has social significance.

More at the source

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, its achievements and humanitarian works.

One thought

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s