Sada Cumber writes on Fort Hood tragedy

Like all Americans, I was profoundly saddened by Thursday’s shooting at Fort Hood. My heart goes out to the families of those killed and wounded in the attack.

The men and women of our armed forces are the shield of freedom and sword of democracy. We expect them to live by even higher standards than the general public. So it is especially painful when such an outrage is committed by a soldier.

For me, there is an added element of horror. The suspect in the shooting is Maj. or Niadal Hasan, an American-born Muslim. As a fellow Muslim, I expect my co-religionists to live by a strict moral code.

And in today’s climate, I worry any crime perpetrated by a Muslim may create a backlash against the millions of patriotic and law-abiding Muslim -Americans.

When I was appointed U.S. special envoy to the Organization of the Islamic Conference by President George W. Bush, it was with a mandate to promote understanding and trust between the Muslim world and the United States. However, the aftermath of the Fort Hood shootings shows how much ignorance and mistrust continue to exist.

Read at mysanantonio.com.

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, its achievements and humanitarian works.