Mehreen Tejani: Why I Teach – His Highness the Aga Khan Shia Imami Ismaili Council Religious Teacher

Mehreen Tejani: Why I Teach - His Highness the Aga Khan Shia Imami Ismaili Council Religious TeacherMehreen Tejani is a secondary religious education teacher at His Highness Shia Ismaili Council for the United States of America in Houston, TX. She has been teaching for three years.

When other children in my class wanted to be astronauts and doctors, I wanted to be a teacher. My favorite American history teacher, Miss Dupriest, made me an American. As an immigrant from Pakistan, I became fascinated by the men and women who fought for freedom, wherever that fight happened to be. I was inspired by their actions, courage and willingness to stand up for what they believed. Since the 5th grade, I wanted to teach everyone not only their stories but the stories of other individuals who made an impact in the world.

After I graduated from the UTeach-Liberal Arts program at University of Texas, I continued my studies on a full scholarship to the Institute of Ismaili Studies and Institute of Education in London. via http://whyiteach.learningmatters.tv.

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, its achievements and humanitarian works.

Leave a Reply

