Sehar Nayani: Fusion of Islamic Art and Jewellery – A Revival

Sehar Nayani: Fusion of Islamic Art and Jewellery - A Revival“Calligraphy, geometric patterns, illumination, ceramics and varying textures around her creates a thought process that helps her in shaping and designing jewellery”. This is a thought expressed by Sehar Nayani a young student of University of Karachi in faculty of Arts. Recently Sehar Nayani participated in an arts show in Karachi to display her work to general public and specially the young women to attract them towards this form of art.

Further Sehar said that, I am inspired by Islamic art but in particular the beautiful geometrical patterns within artefacts have always fascinated me. Each stage of my work is very detailed just like a small universe of its own. Therefore when I begin a piece, I seldom worry about the final product but simply focus on each step. Due to my fascination towards jewellery and designs I decided to focus on jewellery design and made it an essential part of my studies.

Sehar Nayani: Fusion of Islamic Art and Jewellery - A Revival

Fortunately, it turned out to be a smart and a fun way to learn interesting things. However during my studies I was shocked to notice, despite of its beauty, jewellery with Islamic touch was unknown and inaccessible to masses. The reason can be either ignorance of the people or the prices of the precious metals.

Jewellery has always played an important role in every society in defining art and beauty of its people and therefore it should not be restricted by any means in present times. With my work I try to capture both aspects of the problem that is ignorance and pricing. I tend to communicate with people through my work about different designs of jewellery in Islamic world. I use silver copper and brass in my products because of its inexpensive nature, reliability and recyclability. My jewellery is based on geometrical and floral patterns witnessed within Persian and Turkish cultures.

Sehar Nayani: Fusion of Islamic Art and Jewellery - A Revival

As a woman I have always been charmed by jewellery and colors and I therefore think that every woman deserves the same. The creativity in my work speaks for itself and my journey has just begun and I would like to bring this concept at our Imamti institutes and especially at AKDN level.

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, its achievements and humanitarian works.

One thought

  1. What an amazing arts and wonderful thoughts Sehar Nayani, just gone through this lovely article and looking at your wonderful creation and masterpieces of jewellery surely needed more to look and feel the love of your arts and the geomatrics into jewellery….. InshaAllah someday. offcourse you seems to be a gem in yourself……

    These gems have life in them: their colors speak, say what words fail of. ~George Eliot

    wish you good luck and success…Regards,

    Like

Leave a Reply

