I’m (Shia-Ismaili) Muslim, Pro-Palestine and Visited Israel

image

I was the only Muslim student on the trip, and that also automatically categorized me. I identify as a Shia-Ismaili Muslim, which is not part of the majority group in the Israel and Palestine area, but I was lumped into the same beliefs and practices.

I am proud of my identity and beliefs, but at times felt overwhelmed by the strong emotions associated with them in the holy land. I was lucky enough to be able to enter the Dome of the Rock, which is an extremely historical site for Muslims, Christians, and Jews, but currently serves as a place of prayer for those practicing Islam.

In order to enter the area, you had to be able to recite a Surah from the Quran, and I was asked to recite this at three different checkpoints on my way in. When I finally got to the dome, I was astounded.

It was unbelievable.

Read more: http://m.huffpost.com/us/entry/6847926?ncid=txtlnkusaolp00000592

Author: ismailimail

Civil society media.   Find Ismailimail blog on Facebook, Twitter and Google+.

One thought

Leave a Reply

