One Step At A Time | Faizal Khamisa

The medical backstory:

– Diagnosed with cancer (Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma) in 2005 (16 years old)
– Needed two full years of chemotherapy to remove tumour growing on top of my heart
– Had double-hip surgery in 2006 as a result of steroid medicine that stopped blood flow through to my legs
– Had left shoulder surgery in 2007 as a result of steroid medicine that stopped blood flow through to my arm
– 2008-now – much pain in my hips and shoulders as a result of unsuccessful original operations
– November 26 2014 – Right hip replacement (26 years old)

One Step At A Time | Faizal KhamisaGot it?

It’s been an extremely difficult year. Dating back to the operation, I remember my apprehensions. For one thing, I was scared out of my god damn mind. I had gone through operations before, but it was always, you know, on my original joints. I was having a bone permanently removed from my body. What? There was no going back from this.

Read at the Source: One Step At A Time | Faizal Khamisa

Earlier:

Author: ismailimail

Civil society media.   Find Ismailimail blog on Facebook, Twitter and Google+.

Leave a Reply

