Zain Verjee: From CNN Anchor to Entrepreneur

It’s been a two-year breathless roller coaster going from Big Name Global Corporation to Just Me LLC.

After an amazing fourteen years at CNN and magnificent personal and professional life experiences, it was time to reinvent myself.

Former CNN International anchor Zain VerjeeI was at the top of my game, but I had flat-lined.There was no more growth. I needed inspiration. I needed to regain a sense of control. I joined CNN at 25. I was 40. I could no longer see a clear path forward.

The only avenue where I felt in charge of myself was writing. I was accepted into a two-year Masters program in Creative Writing at Oxford University. It offered me a psychological outlet in prose and poetry, which also allowed me to pivot professionally and seek an alternative path forward.

Months after leaving CNN, there was a moment of deep dread when I realized reinvention was not simply hitting reset. Revival does not come without the hard work of self-reflection, stripping away self-perception, standing naked in front of your fragile self and determining a meaningful course forward.

Read more at the source: Africa.com

Earlier

Author: ismailimail

Civil society media.   Find Ismailimail blog on Facebook, Twitter and Google+.

2 thoughts

Leave a Reply

