Dr. Rozmin Jiwani inspires with her story in Huffington Post on “#HumansoftheWorld: A Doctor in Nursing Gives Back” as part of AKF USA’s #GivingTuesday series

Dr. Rozmin Jiwani: A Doctor in Nursing Gives Back
Dr. Rozmin Jiwani: A Doctor in Nursing Gives Back

 

#HumansoftheWorld: A Doctor in Nursing Gives Back

By Rozmin Jiwani for the Huffington Post. Posted on 11/24/2016 11:16 am ET
faculty member at the School of Nursing at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

… My sister worked as a midwife at the Aga Khan University (AKU) in Karachi. That led me to its front doors. I wanted to become a nurse, but my family was not financially stable enough to support me. Still, I decided to test my luck and ended up with the biggest blessing I could have dreamed of. AKU hospital funded my education, introduced me to my best friends, and taught me patient care. The hospital encouraged my medical curiosity, and the meals weren’t half bad either!

It is because of this grand opportunity that I am in the U.S. today. I married a wonderful man who saw how much I wanted to give back to the educational community. He encouraged me to continue by studies, and I soon received my Ph.D. in nursing from the University of Texas in San Antonio.

I still clearly remember the day I decided to select my dissertation focus. It felt so overwhelming! I wanted to write about something that could be used to help others, like I had been helped during my own journey.

… Today, with my diploma in my hand and my dissertation on my bookshelf, I’m proud to say that I am still learning every day. My new wish is to inspire my students the way AKU inspired me.

Discover, Explore and Leran more by reading the complete story at Huffington Post  | #HumansoftheWorld: A Doctor in Nursing Gives Back

 


 

About Dr. Rozmin Jiwani

Dr. Rozmin Jiwani is a faculty member at the School of Nursing at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. She is an assistant professor in the Office of Faculty Affairs and Diversity. She teaches in the Traditional and Accelerated Undergraduate and Graduate Nursing programs. She received her Diploma in Nursing from the Aga Khan University in Karachi, Pakistan in 1993, and her Ph.D. from the UT Health Science Center at San Antonio in 2013.

As a volunteer with the Aga Khan Foundation she has shared her expertise in health promotion and disease prevention. You can learn more about the Aga Khan Foundation’s work by following them on Facebook and Twitter.

Dr. Rozmin Jiwani: A Doctor in Nursing Gives Back


 

This post is part of a series produced by The Huffington Post and the #GivingTuesday Team at 92nd Street Y, to celebrate #GivingTuesday.

#GivingTuesday is a global giving movement, and the series (which will feature content throughout November) aims to celebrate how people are giving back around the world.

For more information about #GivingTuesday, visit here.

And to join the conversation on social media, use the hashtag #GivingTuesday.

 


 

Social Media

Leave a Reply

