Professor Robert Armstrong, Foundation Dean of Aga Khan Medical College

My professional career began with Simon Fraser University in 1970 graduating with a BSc in Biological Sciences in 1975.  Coincident with this I regularly gave my next-door neighbor a ride to SFU and the ride has lasted to this day as we married, had three great children and now one amazing grandchild.  Following SFU I spent the next 10 years at McMaster University, doing an MD, MSc and PhD and fellowship training in child development before returning to Vancouver to complete my residency in pediatrics.  I then joined UBC as faculty and did clinical work at Sunny Hill Health Centre and BC Children’s Hospital specializing in childhood disability.  I have held a variety of roles over this period of time including Medical Director at Sunny Hill, Vice President, Clinical at Children’s and Women’s Hospital and Head of Pediatrics at UBC and Chief of Pediatrics at BC Children’s and Women’s Hospital from 2000 to 2010.  I was also Associate Faculty, School of Population and Public Health and Senior Associate Clinical Scientist at the Child and Family Research Institute. During this time I helped establish a Centre for Community Child Health Research and a Centre for International Child Health. It was this work that linked me to the Aga Khan University where I did a 6-month sabbatical in Karachi and from this relationship ended up with my current role as the Abdul Sultan Jamal Professor of Pediatrics and Foundation Dean of the AKU Medical College, responsible for establishing a brand new Medical College as part of a Faculty of Health Sciences for East Africa based in Nairobi. I was extremely honored in 2007 to receive an Outstanding Alumni Award from SFU and in 2011 to have been appointed a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.  I live and work in Nairobi, Kenya but return frequently to Vancouver.

Read interview at the source: Robert Armstrong – Inspiring Alumni – Simon Fraser University

https://www.aku.edu/mcea/about/Pages/profile-dean.aspx

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, its achievements and humanitarian works.

Leave a Reply

