Sabrina Lakhani: The overwhelming joy of welcoming my mom to INSEAD

Sabrina Lakhani: The overwhelming joy of welcoming my mom to INSEADSpin the Globe | The INSEAD MBA Experience

The overwhelming joy of welcoming my mom to INSEAD was indescribable. I was beaming. She has never seen me happier. And it’s only been 6 weeks since I arrived in Singapore!

When she asked how my quiz went that morning, I happily responded: I know I passed.

Passed?!

She was confused and rightly so. She distinctly remembers that I broke down and cried when I received my first B+ at Babson College! Like so many of my classmates at INSEAD, I was extremely focused on academics, GPA, and distinguishing accolades during my undergraduate years.

I explained the grade non-disclosure policy to my mom over lunch that day. Naturally, she asked, “So how does someone assess performance at INSEAD?”

Oh, that’s easy, I said. You simply ask yourself, ‘Have I achieved what I set out to do when I first got here?’

More at the source: Spin the Globe | The INSEAD MBA Experience

 

Related: Sabrina Lakhani

More

 

Previously on Ismailimail…

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, its achievements and humanitarian works.

Leave a Reply

