Never get too old to dance | Sameer Ali

Never get too old to dance | Sameer AliMar 21, 2017: Being involved in a voluntary capacity within the community has thought me some of the best life lessons along with many skills that I can apply professionally and personally.

I was approached a few weeks back to help with a community event and this time it wasn’t to speak at the event, moderate it or help with the administration but rather to teach a group of 10-12 year olds to dance. Now, please don’t get me wrong, I love music and dancing is a great way to relax & have fun but teaching these kids in just a few weeks…that would be interesting.

After initially hesitating due to time commitments, I agreed because it would be an interesting experience, the kids are simply awesome and the core purpose behind the event was to celebrate diversity (kids are from multiple countries) and the celebration of #Nowruz (New Years).

Once again giving of time and knowledge has only left me with the one being appreciative of the opportunity. It’s not about what I thought the kids but what they gave me. The passion, joy and sheer happiness in their commitment, practices, and interaction were exactly what I needed to remind myself to enjoy the little moments in life, have a positive approach and of course…never get too old to dance :)

Thank you, kids, @ #OneJamat (One Community) Dance Crew.

Source: https://lnkd.in/e8sndUD

Sameer Ali is a multi-disciplinary organizational leader – Toronto, Canada Area.

 

Related

More

 

Previously on Ismailimail…

Author: SNN

Love to share/capture photos/achievements of people and communities as a community builder

Leave a Reply

