Are you a bridge or a wall? By Shaheen Murji

Source: LinkedIn Pulse / By Shaheen Murji – Quality and Accredtation Manager, ASDP, Om Habibeh Foundation, Aga Khan Foundation, Egypt

om-habibeh-foundationAre you a bridge or a wall? This question was posed during a training session. I got all excited with this question because it reflected a way of being. I congratulated the trainers who said they were bridges. It was much later on reflection that I realized…that there is more to it than this simple answer. The more I reflected, the more I realized that walls are equally important…they bound and guard spaces, and provide protection. Walls, too, play an important role in quality. My reminder from this exercise was that this question is contextual. As a trainer, being a bridge is great, but a true trainer needs to be both – a bridge when it comes to facilitating and helping participants achieve their goals; however, one also need not be sheepish about being a wall. This is especially true when it comes to grading schemas and quality of course delivery. As for myself, I was reminded that I need to be a bridge in many contexts, but in others, say in my role as Quality and Accreditation Manager, I need to be a wall, and I make no apologies about it.

Read more – Dated: January 10, 2017

Related: http://www.akdn.org/project/om-habibeh-foundation

http://www.akdn.org/press-release/aga-khan-announces-om-habibeh-foundation-grant-aswan

 

Previously on Ismailimail…

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, its achievements and humanitarian works.

Leave a Reply

