Diamond Jubilee Poem by Aga Khan Academy Mombasa Student Ziyaan Virji

My Journey …

Diamond Jubilee Poem by Aga Khan Academy Mombasa Student Ziyaan Virji

Like a seed that would never grow into a plant, I came

Although a fruitful seed, never exploited to the correct necessities

No proper soil or water, until came a point where they said I have no possibilities

But then light shone on me, it was time to reclaim

With good teachers and facilitators, soil and water was gradually provided

Through the affable people, I adjusted

Facilities and opportunities wouldn’t be regarded as a need anymore

A seedling I grew as, something they would adore

Like the detrimental pests, came the emotional breakdowns too

But with the joyful environment created, I would simply breakthrough

AKA strands, ATL skills, Profiles and Attributes,

was the regular water I would intake to be the best of me

Although I’m just a unique seedling in this colossal garden,

away from my original roots,

but the pluralistic and diversity present in every recruit,

wouldn’t allow anyone to use family as a madden

Through the constant motivation and leadership opportunities, I’ve grown

I’ve grown into a young plant from a seed that once was equal to a stone

Through the good nurturing, I’ve cultivated into a plant that stands up for himself

But that’s not where it ends

Although I’ve become a young plant with many leaves and flowers,

I’ve to face the world, the world that will step on me and the world that will adore me

I will strive to become enormous one day, and when I do

Just like my gardener taught me,

I will emanate back to where my roots really are

And ripen my garden into a huge forestry one day

By Ziyaan Virji

Ziyaan Virji is an Ismaili student currently studying in Year 9 at Aga Khan Academy, Mombasa. He wrote this poem as part of his journey at the academy, in commemoration of Mawlana Hazar Imam’s Diamond Jubilee. Ziyaan have had a hidden love for poetry and through his skills he wants to educate and enlighten the rest of the world about his school, and how it has made him a better person. Although his poem is about his journey at the academy, you will be enlightened about the various skills and attributes Hazar Imam wants students to attain.

 

Previously on Ismailimail…

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, its achievements and humanitarian works.

Leave a Reply

