Ayaz Bhanji: University of Alberta’s Alumni President

Source: The Quad

Have You Met…Ayaz Bhanji?

It’s the next big step in reconnecting with a place that had a huge impact on me. University was the happiest time of my life. After graduation, I lost touch though. I got married, started working and building a career. When my kids got older, I found more time to volunteer. In 2009, I became president of the Aga Khan Council for Edmonton. That same year, the Aga Khan himself was awarded an honorary degree from the university. At his acceptance speech, he said he intended to build an Islamic garden at the University of Alberta Botanic Garden. I was asked to help create a committee to build links between our association and the university. I was pleasantly surprised by all the volunteer opportunities available to alumni and joined Alumni Council two years ago. When I was asked to become Alumni president, I was so honoured and could not refuse. It is a chance to give back to a place that’s given me so much — including many happy memories.

Read more – Dated: JUNE 1, 2017

 

Previously on Ismailimail…

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, its achievements and humanitarian works.

Leave a Reply

