Interview with Canadian Diplomat Alia Dedhar

Source: derosairo

Interview with Canadian Diplomat Alia DedharName: Alia Dedhar
Name: City and Country: New York, USA
Title: Diplomat, Head of Innovation
Company: Consulate General of Canada in New York City

What about your career makes you feel proud?

I feel proud that I am part of the Canadian Foreign Service, which is a group that represents the government of Canada abroad. Being able to play a role firsthand in the impact that Canada has on the world gives me great pride.

What inspired you to be doing what you are in your career?

Ten years ago and fresh out of university, I was working as a junior officer at the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade. At the time I really didn’t know much about the Foreign Service or what it meant to be a “diplomat”. As my career progressed, I continued to be surrounded by people who had played roles in historical political moments, who were involved in negotiating trade agreements, and who assisted in relief efforts around the world. These were people who represented Canada for its values, policies and culture. Learning through their stories and experiences, coupled with my own interest in politics and economic issues, peaked my interest in The Canadian Foreign Service. And now in my current role as Head of Innovation at the Consulate General of Canada in New York, I focus on accelerating the commercial success of innovative Canadian companies through the Canadian Technology Accelerator.

Read more – Dated: 04/07/15

 

Previously on Ismailimail…

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, its achievements and humanitarian works.

Leave a Reply

