Searching for a Spiritual Guide

When the clock of years had turned

Some forty-two rounds, I began to search for wisdom

“Among all creatures,” I thought,

“there must be one more precious than others,

like the falcon among the birds,

the camel among all beasts of burden,

the palm among the trees, and the sun among the stars.”

I searched for guidance on the Chosen One of God

from many thinkers, but each one pointed

a different way to me one to China, one to Africa.

Then one day, I read in the Quran

that God’s Hand is upon those

people’s hand who give their bayah

to Prophet Muhammad.

The Prophet was no longer alive.

To whom should I give my bayah?

Where would I find that Hand?

I went my way, inquiring, searching

from city to city, from shore to shore

Finally, I reached the city

And here, before the gates of the city my reason spoke:

“Within these walls, find what you seek

and do not leave without it.”

So I went before the guardian of the gate

and told him of my search.

Drop by drop, and day by day,

he fed me the healing medicine of mind,

till my illness went away;

my face, which has been pale, now grew rosy with joy;

I, who had been like a stone, was now a ruby.

Pir Nasir-i Khusraw

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, inter and intra faith endeavors, achievements and humanitarian works.

2 thoughts

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.