Change in the making – Bilaal Rajan

12-year-old is a child ambassador for UNICEF, runs his own website – and is now an author

There aren’t too many 12-year-olds who can boast a website and blog, a top 20 under 20 award, his own business card, a passport filled with stamps as a child ambassador for UNICEF — and his own assistant.

So for Bilaal Rajan, launching his first book yesterday, Making Change, Tips from an Underage Overachiever, was all in a day’s work for a kid who started selling clementines to help Indian earthquake victims when he was just four.

With a mouthful of braces, the Grade 8 student at Aurora’s St. Andrew’s College looks like most of the other boys in blue blazers and grey flannels at the exclusive private school. That is, until he gets up on stage and speaks for 10 minutes to the assembled dignitaries, media and students why he’s written his 150-page guide for young teens.

Part-preacher, part-motivational speaker, the kid expertly paces the stage and speaks passionately and eloquently about how kids can change the world — all without a single note in hand.

More at Change in the making | Columnists | News | Toronto Sun

Earlier related: MAKING CHANGE NOW – A Message from Bilaal Rajan

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, inter and intra faith endeavors, achievements and humanitarian works.

5 thoughts

  1. Mashallah and Subhanallah.

    Allah does what he wills. Congrates to proud parents

    We would like to have a copy of his book.

    God bless you Bilal,wonderful work by you.

    Like

  2. I was listening to his interview on my car radio and got so engrossed that I missed my exit and got home an hour late.

    Like him I too am an admirer of the Aga Khan and the Ismaili community. As a matter of fact I have worked for the Aga Khan Education Service for 8 years as a Language Advisor and Project Coordinator

    Like

  3. I am not a religious person but I appreciate the humanitarian spirit of young Bilaal. My elder son also responds to that name.

    Like

  4. I am still looking for my colleagues from AKES, Pakistan. I know there are quite a few of them in the States, but I suppose they do not have access to this website. Nevertheless, I will keep waiting for a response.

    Mohammed Yusuf Rahat (yusufrahat@yahoo.com)

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.