State of Formation – Learning from Others – Intra-Faith Engagement

Hussein Rashid writes for CNN: My Take: What Tsarnaev gets wrong about IslamI was recently at a talk at Yale, where the Chaplain’s Office hosted a tea for me with students. It was a wonderful opportunity to speak to a rising generation of young folks who are interested in religion, and inter-faith interaction in particular. They wanted to know what I got out of the work and why I thought it was important. Some heavy questions that cannot easily be answered over tea. I did share the “I-Thou” relationship as a starting point, and talked about how this resonates with Muslim thought. Then I told them some stories. One is a story I have told in other venues, and one came to me after I left. The second is more of an intra-faith learning moment, but I think exemplifies some of the things I value in learning from an/other.

By the time I got to college, I was not on speaking terms with God.

More State of Formation – Learning from Others – Intra-Faith Engagement.

All related: http://www.stateofformation.org/author/hussein-rashid/

https://ismailimail.wordpress.com/tag/hussein-rashid/

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, inter and intra faith endeavors, achievements and humanitarian works.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.