I-STAR Awards – Ottawa Canada

I-Star Awards OttawaThe Ottawa Ismaili Students Total Achievement and Recognition (I-STAR) event held on Sunday January 24th, 2010, was an afternoon filled with surprise, suspense and pride!! I-STAR is an initiative of His Highness Prince Aga Khan Shia Imami Ismaili Council for Canada and the Aga Khan Education Board for Canada and is the pinnacle event of student recognition in the Ismaili community.

I-Star Awards OttawaEach year, the event is celebrated regionally in major centers across Canada to recognize the exemplary achievements that Ismaili students have made over the past academic year, in 2008-2009 in the areas of community service & leadership, athletics, arts & humanities, and mathematics, science & technology and academic excellence.

This year’s I-STAR theme was: The Human Face of the 21st Century Knowledge Society: Ethics, Excellence and Social Responsibility which ties into a longstanding tradition within Islam of encouraging the pursuit of knowledge within an ethical framework.

More.

To view photos of the I-STAR event, please click here.

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, inter and intra faith endeavors, achievements and humanitarian works.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.